Home Legal News Ontario appoints five new justices to the Ontario Court of Justice

Ontario appoints five new justices to the Ontario Court of Justice

by HR Law Canada

The Ontario government has officially announced the addition of five new justices to the Ontario Court of Justice, set to take their positions on April 11, 2024. These appointments reflect a diverse range of legal backgrounds and experiences, promising to enrich the judiciary’s capability to address the complex needs of Ontarians.

Justice Michelle M. Dwyer, with a legal career that began upon her call to the Ontario bar in 2002, has cultivated a diverse practice in family, estate, and criminal law before moving into positions such as a per diem Crown attorney and an agent for the Public Prosecution Service of Canada in Waterloo Region and Guelph. Justice Dwyer’s commitment to community service is evident through her extensive volunteer work with Victim Services Wellington and Wyndham House, aimed at supporting victims of crime and preventing youth homelessness, respectively. Assigned to Timmins by Chief Justice Sharon Nicklas, Justice Dwyer’s broad legal and volunteer experience is expected to be a valuable asset.

Justice Davin Michael Kumar Garg, another appointee, brings to the bench his proficiency in conducting trials and appeals in both official languages, with a specialization in Charter litigation, commercial crime, and driving cases. Called to the bar in 2013, Justice Garg’s legal journey includes significant contributions to the Ontario Justice Education Network and the South Asian Bar Association of Toronto. His new role in Hamilton is anticipated to benefit greatly from his legal expertise and commitment to community service.

In Hamilton as well, Justice Jason Little will serve, following a career focused on criminal law and his own practice dedicated to work for the Public Prosecution Service of Canada. Justice Little’s engagement with the Hamilton Justice Education Network and local community organizations like the Ancaster Lions Club underscores his dedication to legal education and community involvement.

Ottawa will welcome Justice John Andrew MacFarlane, who has an extensive background in criminal law across different regions of Canada, including the Northwest Territories. His experience with the Public Prosecution Service of Canada in Ottawa, alongside his volunteer work with the Waupoos Foundation, highlights his commitment to public service and community support.

Lastly, Justice Elizabeth Wilson’s assignment to Simcoe comes after a career dedicated to supporting vulnerable populations through her work in child protection and as an assistant Crown attorney. Her involvement with the Huron-Perth Centre for Children & Youth and the Canadian Mental Health Association reflects a strong commitment to mental health and child welfare.

These appointments, as announced by Chief Justice Sharon Nicklas, signal a strengthening of the Ontario Court of Justice with professionals who not only bring vast legal expertise but also a deep commitment to public service and community engagement.

You may also like

About Us

HR Law Canada is dedicated to covering labour and employment news for lawyers, HR professionals and employers. Published by North Wall Media.