14 lawyers in Nova Scotia appointed to the King’s Counsel

Buckingham Palace in London. Photo: Craige McGonigle/Pexlels

Fourteen Nova Scotia lawyers are being recognized with the prestigious King’s counsel designation.

Justice Minister and Attorney General Brad Johns announced the appointments today, February 8. The King’s counsel designation took effect for the first time since 1952 immediately following the death of Queen Elizabeth in September.

It is bestowed annually to members of the legal profession to recognize exceptional merit and outstanding contributions to the legal community.

“My sincere congratulations to this year’s appointees,” said Minister Johns. “The King’s counsel designation is a symbol of high regard and reserved for those who have truly demonstrated their commitment to the legal profession and to their communities. Each one of these individuals is deserving of the honour of being named the King’s counsel.”

The appointees are:

  • Karen Kinley, Halifax
  • Patrick C. Lamey, Port Hawkesbury
  • Stephen McGrath, Halifax
  • J. Philip Leefe, Bridgewater
  • Deanne MacLeod, Halifax
  • Janice Maloney, Millbrook
  • Eric Ralph (Rick) Woodburn, Halifax
  • Robert J. Currie, Halifax
  • Wilfred Dean Smith, Halifax
  • Sarah Campbell, Halifax
  • Helen Jane Anderson, Halifax
  • Jason Cooke, Halifax
  • Timothy A. McLaughlin, Halifax
  • Angela Anne Walker, Halifax

A formal ceremony to honour the King’s counsel appointees will be held this spring.

Quick Facts:

  • an independent advisory committee makes King’s counsel recommendations to the minister of justice and attorney general
  • criteria include a minimum of 15 years as a member of the bar of Nova Scotia, demonstrated professional integrity and good character